healthy SNACK time

healthysnacks75What kind of healthy snacks do you give your kids?

Ahhh…healthy eating is a concern most parents share.  It may seem like our baby did a good job devouring the pureed fruits & veggies and suddenly we run into a picky toddler!  I like to remind parents that it often takes up to ten introductions of a “new” food before it is well-received.  So, with that in mind, don’t give up!  You have probably also learned that what is a big hit one day may be tossed aside on another…that too is normal!  I’m going to share some of the easy, yummy, healthier treats my kids will eat in hopes that it inspires you with your child.

  • carrots or pretzels with hummus
  • sliced cucumbers
  • cherry tomato & mozzarella balls
  • sliced fruits (my kids literally eat ALL fruits and LOVE them!!)
  • veggie-fruit smoothies (my favorite is  1/2 cup frozen blueberries, 1/2 cup strawberries, 1 cup almond milk, 1 tbs. almond butter, 1/2 banana, 1 cup spinach, 1 cup kale – BLEND)
  • hard-boiled eggs
  • healthy muffins (I make my muffins with *mostly whole wheat flour, substituting butter/oil with applesauce or yogurt, adding flaxseed or chia seeds, ….always with shredded veggies and/or fruit inside)
  • cottage cheese and crackers
  • apples with almond/peanut butter
  • edamame
  • cascadia farms peas (buy frozen, put in water to defrost, drain)
  • home-made granola
  • tofu – plain, just cubed (uncooked!)
  • snap peas
  • home-made guacamole with tortilla chips
  • air-popped popcorn
  • home-made sweet potato “fries” or “chips”  (oven baked using little water in lieu of oil)
  • frozen yogurt tubes
  • vanilla-honey greek choban yogurt with sliced bananas & strawberries
  • fruitabu
  • Organic Fruit Pouches (not just for babies!)
  • Mrs. May’s dried fruit chips
  • English muffin pizzas

These are some of the more popular snacks in our house.  I do find that my kids, when hungry, are likely to eat any snack I give them!  Some days, when I’ve prepared dinner in advance, I might cut up some of the meal (ie. some chicken and sliced cucumbers) and leave it on the table as their “snack”.  This helps them avoid filling up on fruit before dinner…and the fruit becomes a welcomed dessert after dinner!  For me, it’s been helpful to set limits around what we eat for snacks, when we eat them, and how much we eat.  I don’t want them filling up before a meal; and I want them to have a balanced diet.  I’m certainly not opposed to the occasional cookie (I don’t buy them, but we will make oatmeal chocolate chip cookies once in a while) or granola bar, but my kids know: you are what you eat!  I want them to nourish their bodies and minds with healthy things!  Lately we’ve been juicing a lot too.  My kids’ favorite juice might be the beet-carrot-orange-ginger “red juice”.  I love that veggies are so easy to drink!

Do you have any favorite snacks that your kids will easily gobble up?

Leave a Reply

